Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

Further settings

Login for editors

Teaching and Research Profile

Teaching Profile

Sociology is taught in Halle with a focus on the following areas:

  • Social structure: Description and analysis of the structural conditions of coexistence and its transition, with a particular focus on demographic change and how it affects different social areas (such as individuals and family, school, work, the welfare state);
  • Theory: Description and analysis of key terms and theoretical frameworks of sociology from an historical and comparative perspective; in particular, structuralist and functionalist theories, holistic and individualistic theories, system theories of rational actors, and exchange and interaction theories;
  • Methods: Teaching sound expertise using quantitative and qualitative methods of empirical social research, applying these when collecting and evaluating data, and modelling social processes;
  • Sociology of education: examination of the processes of education and upbringing with respect to interaction, organisation and the relation to other social areas (above all employment and politics), and under the aspect of a global society;
  • Economic and organisational sociology: Description and analysis of forms of economic activity in various socio-cultural contexts, the embedding of society in ecological correlations, knowledge for a sustainable society and for sustainable management.

Research Profile

  • Social structure of modern societies: How is the demographic reproduction of society changing and what are the consequences of generational change for the career paths of social actors and for important socialisation agents such as family, education and work?
  • Methods of empirical social research: What are the determinants of social change in modern societies? How can social change in an actor’s life course be quantitatively and qualitatively described and explained over time and from a comparative perspective?
  • Sociological theory: How do the cultural characteristics of obligation and reciprocity behave and change under current social conditions? What are the elements that cause these changes? How does this impact the relationship between the social actors, and the socialisation agents of modern societies?
  • Sociology and education: How does an increasing expansion of academic education impact the world of employment? Which relationships currently exist between the development of study programmes and the emergence and modification of professional fields for academics, between the generation and typification of academic working capacity at universities, and the development of and change in positions for academic personnel in work organisations?
  • Economic and organisational sociology: Which relationships between economic actors, socio-political institutions and individual actors in a society are threatened by events such as the financial crisis or the destruction of the environment and nature?

The research profile of the Institute of Sociology provides accent-setting perspectives for the core research area “Society and Culture in Motion” and the area “Knowledge – Communication – Education”. In addition to a primary focus on basic research, the elements of applied social research for this line of research are studied in depth with regard to their regional relevance.

Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Weiteres

Login für Redakteure





Profil in Lehre und Forschung

Profil in der Lehre

Gelehrt wird Soziologie in Halle mit den folgenden fünf Schwerpunkten:

  • Sozialstruktur: Beschreibung und Analyse struktureller Bedingungen des Zusammenlebens und dessen Wandel mit besonderem Fokus auf demografischem Wandel und dessen Folgen für unterschiedliche gesellschaftliche Bereiche (wie Individuen und Familie, Schule, Arbeit, Wohlfahrtstaat);
  • Theorie: Beschreibung und Analyse zentraler Begriffe und theoretischer Rahmen der Soziologie in historischer sowie ver­glei­chen­der Perspektive; insbesondere strukturalistische und funk­tio­na­lis­tische Theorien, holistische und individualistische Theorien, systemische Theorien, Theorien rationeller Akteure sowie Aus­tausch- und Interaktionstheorien;
  • Methoden: Vermittlung fundierten Fachwissens über quantitative und qualitative Methoden der empirischen Sozialforschung und deren Anwendung im Rahmen der Erhebung und Auswertung von Daten, bis hin zur Modellierung sozialer Prozesse;
  • Soziologie der Bildung: Untersuchung von Bildungs- und Er­ziehungs­pro-­ zessen mit Bezug auf Interaktion, Organisation und das Verhältnis zu anderen gesellschaftlichen Bereichen (vor allem Beschäftigung  und Politik) sowie unter dem Gesichtspunkt der Welt­gesell­schaft;
  • Wirtschafts- und Organisationssoziologie: Beschreibung und Analyse von Formen wirtschaftlichen Handelns in verschiedenen soziokulturellen Kontexten, die Einbettung von Gesell­schaft in ökologische Zusammenhänge, Wissen für eine zu­kunfts­fähige Gesellschaft und für nachhaltiges Wirtschaften.

Profil in der Forschung

  • Sozialstruktur moderner Gesellschaften: Wie verändert sich die demografische Reproduktion der Gesellschaft und welche Folgen hat der Generationenwandel auf die Laufbahn sozialer Akteure und auf wichtige Sozialisationsinstanzen wie Familie, Bildung, Arbeit?
  • Methoden der empirischen Sozialforschung: Welche sind die Determinanten des sozialen Wandels in modernen Gesellschaften? Wie kann sozialer Wandel in den Lebensläufen von Akteuren über die Zeit und in vergleichender Perspektive sowohl quantitativ als auch qualitativ beschrieben und erklärt werden?
  • Soziologische Theorie: Wie verhalten und verändern sich kulturelle Eigenschaften der Verpflichtung und der Gegenseitigkeit unter aktuellen sozialen Bedingungen? Welche sind die Elemente, die diese Veränderungen bedingen? Welche Folgen hat das für das Verhältnis der sozialen Akteure zueinander und für die Sozialisationsinstanzen der modernen Gesellschaften?
  • Soziologie der Bildung: Welche Folgen ergeben sich aus der zunehmenden Ausdehnung akademischer (Aus-)Bildung für die Arbeitswelt? Welche Beziehungen bestehen zwischen der Entwicklung von Studiengängen und der Entstehung und Modifikation von beruflichen Feldern für Akademiker, zwischen der Hervorbringung und Typisierung akademischen Arbeitsvermögens an den Hochschulen und der Entstehung und Veränderung von Stellen für akademisches Personal in Arbeitsorganisationen?
  • Wirtschafts- und Organisationssoziologie: Welche Beziehungen zwischen wirtschaftlichen Akteuren, sozial-politischen Institutionen und einzelnen Akteuren in einer Gesellschaft sind bedroht durch Ereignisse wie die Finanzkrise oder Umwelt- und Naturzerstörungen?

Das Forschungsprofil des Instituts für Soziologie bietet Akzent setzende Perspektiven für den Forschungsschwerpunkt „Gesellschaft und Kultur in Bewegung“ und den Bereich „Wissen – Kommunikation – Bildung“. Neben der im Vordergrund stehenden Grundlagenforschung werden die in dieser Forschungslinie gegebenen Elemente angewandter Sozialforschung in ihrer Relevanz für die Region vertieft.

Zum Seitenanfang